A+ A A-

CEACS Certificate of Merit

  • Category: Awards
  • Published: Thursday, 12 November 2009 09:46
  • Written by Super User

The CEACS Certificate of Merit was introduced in order to recognize exceptional contributions made to the development of Canadian Studies in the Central European region. These may be in such areas as teaching excellence; the creation of new and innovative Canadian Studies courses; the establishing of Canadian Studies Centres; lifelong achievement and commitment to Canadian Studies; publishing in the area of Canadian studies; the translation of Canadian texts; the organization of conferences promoting Canadian studies; or other contributions that clearly aid the promotion of Canadian Studies.

Every three years members may nominate individuals for the award. Those selected as recipients are then present with their certificate at the triennial conference of the CEACS. So far the following awards have been made (clicking on the names takes you to the texts of the citations).

2006 - 4th International Conference of Central European Canadianists, Debrecen, Hungary

Anna Jakabfi, Eotvos Lorand University, Budapest, Hungary


2009 - 5th International Conference of Central European Canadianists, Sofia, Bulgaria

Michelle Gadpaille, University of Maribor, Slovenia
Maria Huttova, Comenius University, Bratislava, Slovakia
Petr Kylousek, Masaryk University, Brno, Czech Republic
Judit Molnar, University of Debrecen, Hungary
Ana Olos, North University of Baia Mare, Romania


2012 - 6th International Conference of Central European Canadianists, Bratislava, Slovakia

Monica Bottez, University of Bucharest, Romania
Miroslav Jindra, Charles University, Prague, Czech Republic
Judit Nagy, Károli Gáspár University of the Reformed Church in Budapest, Hungary


2015 - 7th International Conference of Central European Canadianists, Zagreb, Croatia

Corina Panaitescu, Alexandru Ioan Cuza University, Iasi, Romania
Klara Kolinska, Metropolitan University, Prague, Czech Republic 
Katalin Kurtosi, University of Szeged, Hungary 
Eva Martonyi, Peter Pazmany Catholic University, Piliscsaba, Hungary 



ICCS Certificate of Merit

The ICCS Certificate of Merit was established in 1988 to recognize outstanding contributions made by individuals around the globe to the development of Canadian Studies. The first certificates were awarded in 1989; they are presented or announced annually at the ICCS Annual General Meeting in May.

ICCS Annual General Meeting 2004 - Moncton, New Brunswick

Don Sparling, Masaryk University, Brno, Czech Republic

ICCS Annual General Meeting 2010 - Montréal, Québec

Katalin Kürtösi, University of Szeged, Hungary

ICCS Annual General Meeting 2014 - Ottawa, Ontario

János Kenyeres, Eötvös Lóránd University, Budapest, Hungary

Pierre Savard Awards

  • Category: Awards
  • Published: Wednesday, 28 March 2012 22:00
  • Written by Dominika Kováčová

The Pierre Savard Awards were established by the International Council for Canadian Studies in memory of the distinguished Canadian historian and Canadianist Pierre Savard, President of the ICCS from 1983 to 1985. Designed to recognize outstanding scholarly monographs on a Canadian topic, two are awarded each year, one to a book written in English or French, the other to a book written in some other language.


Ádám Fuglinszky,  Eötvös Loránd University, Budapest, for A polgári jogi felelősség útjai vegyes jogrendszerben, Québec, Kanada (The Ways of Civil Liability in a Mixed Legal System, Quebec, Canada)